Premium Avatar
Log in
In Stuttgart, the transition to grass begins

In Stuttgart, the transition to grass begins

The world of tennis has barely recovered from its emotions when it's already time to move on. While the French Open came to an end on Sunday and the clay-court season is officially over, the grass-court tour has already begun.

For five weeks (from 06/10 to 07/14), the world's best players will be competing on grass, with Wimbledon (July 1 to 14) in their sights.

So, while some may still be thinking back to Carlos Alcaraz's magnificent triumph over Alexander Zverev on Sunday (6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2), the time has already come to look to the future. And that future is the fastest surface in modern tennis: grass.

One of the first events of the season takes place this week in Germany. Although it's only an ATP 250, the Stuttgart tournament features a number of top-class players.

The tournament's record of achievements includes such greats as Federer (2018), Nadal (2005, 2007, 2015), Thiem (2016), Ferrer (2006) and Del Potro (2008).

Once again this year, a number of top names are taking part. While some of them will be taking a few days off, others will be building up their confidence as early as this week.

The Stuttgart draw includes Alexander Zverev (4th and unfortunate finalist in Paris), Ben Shelton (14th), Alexander Bublik (17th), Frances Tiafoe (28th and defending champion), Lorenzo Musetti (30th) and Andy Murray, as well as Matteo Berrettini, always a threat on grass, and Denis Shapovalov.

Alexander Zverev
4e, 6885 points
Ben Shelton
14e, 2590 points
Alexander Bublik
17e, 2150 points
Frances Tiafoe
28e, 1590 points
Lorenzo Musetti
30e, 1290 points
Andy Murray
97e, 623 points
Matteo Berrettini
95e, 630 points
Denis Shapovalov
117e, 550 points
Publier un Flash Publier un Flash
Top des commentaires comments
His game needs ro retire
2 thumb_up
ad6771 ad6771
Absolute fraud 😂😂😂
2 thumb_up
DixieNormous DixieNormous
About time too 🤬
1 thumb_up
Pieface Pieface
Wow, well done Pinnington Jones.
1 thumb_up
Dave S. Dave S.
Pinnington win the game
1 thumb_up
Rohit C. Rohit C.