Video - When the referee wrongly interrupts the match between Alcaraz and Draper
Le 16/03/2025 à 12h34
par Arthur Millot

Jack Draper qualified for the Indian Wells final by defeating Carlos Alcaraz in three sets (6-1, 0-6, 6-4). He will face Denmark's Holger Rune in the final on Sunday.
While the match proceeded normally during the first two sets, a refereeing incident sparked controversy at the start of the third. At one game apiece and 15-15 on the Spaniard's serve, the referee interrupted the point.
Indeed, Alcaraz attempted a drop shot, which Draper returned. However, Mohamed Lahyani, the chair umpire, stopped the point. The Swedish official believed the ball had bounced twice before being struck by the British player.
After two reviews, the referee ultimately awarded the point to Draper, as the ball subsequently hit by Alcaraz landed outside the court.